Gregory Award

The Dr. A. B. Gregory Award

paul mancuso with award

Paul Mancuso, 2016 Award Recipient

The award is a plaque including the text “In Recognition of Outstanding Contributions of Time and Effort to Others in Amateur Astronomy”. It is normally presented only once. Dr. Boris Gregory was a professor of French Literature at San Jose State College. He had a lifetime interest in astronomy, and for retirement, was given or bought one of the earliest C-8 telescopes. It was delivered personally by the then-president of Celestron, as he was a long-time friend of Dr. Gregory. After retirement, he taught an introductory astronomy class, part of the Adult Education series. It was in one of these sessions that Bob Fingerhut and other SJAA members met him.

Dr. Gregory was president of SJAA for one term, 1973-1974. He was on the Board from antiquity until his death in March 1979, and was especially adept at welcoming newcomers. With years of experience, he was often asked for advice and help, and his answer was typically, “Come over and we’ll work on it”. At board meetings, he was very often the first to say, “I’ll look into that”.

After his death, SJAA members Bob Fingerhut and Norm Neinchel conceived the Gregory Award. Bob and Norm provided the initial funds, and there was a nomination and a donation (in that order) from Mrs. Gregory a few years later. In addition, one of our members has sometimes chosen to cover the cost instead of asking to be reimbursed for the engraving.

List of Recipients

2016 Paul Mancuso
2012 Dr. Robert Armstrong
2011 Rick Morales
2010 Gary Mitchell
2009 Mark Wagner
2007 Jim Van Nuland
2000 Jane Houston Jones
1999 Ed Erbeck
1998 Jay Reynolds Freeman
1997 Bob Keller
1995 Bob Ashford
1991 Jack Peterson, Paul Barton (two awards)
1989 Tom Ahl
1987 Don Machholz
1985 Jack Zeiders
1984 Jim Van Nuland
1983 Bob Fingerhut
1982 Gerry Rattley
1981 Denni Frerichs Medlock
1980 Kevin Medlock